J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Banned
4,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, before I even start typing something about whats wrong with my engine. I can't do the 3400 swap guys as much as I really would love to. I'm a poverty College student :lol: Anyways...I went to school today and the car seemed to be running fine...but once i got into TO ( where my school is) the car started to run hot, So i turned the fan on ( I did the fan override switch for that reason) and finally got parked and all. Now coming home! This was a different story the car seemed to have NO power what so ever! and drank a Crap load of fuel!:eek: There is no knocking noises or anything like that in the engine. I just changed the oil and filter, Spark plugs and wires are new.
Any help would be awsome! Shes my daily driver so kinda need to keep it running good. :-?
Car specs
1994 Cavalier
2.2 L
5 Speed manual

·
Registered
3,794 Posts
So you have a 2.2L and you overheated it? And now it's running poorly and using a lot of fuel?

Headgasket
They're awfull about blowing headgaskets with just a little extra heat. I know from experience. My first cavalier had that problem. I went through about 3 gaskets. I also work in a machine shop and I have to pressure check atleast one a day. 80% of them crack on the exhaust side of the head. So make sure to get it pressure checked and resurfaced.

Good luck with it.

-Joseph

·
Banned
4,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I didn't over heat it...it was running hotter than normal tho...its usually on the first line so like 50 something like that and it was half way between that line and the line above that lol...sorry for the noob statement but really i don't know what the increments are for the temp....but I will for sure check the head gasket. thanks.

·
Banned
4,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
the Check engine light didn't come on :-?
Antifreeze is perfect used the tester tis where its should be.