J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
89 Z , 2 problems with rear brakes, i am new to Cavy's but have ownded other GM's, and never had
the lack of feel in the brakes as this Z has, i put in new rear wheel cylinders and shoes, adjusted. Has good pads and rotors and calipers, no leaks. They stop you pretty good, front tires will slide easily when testing on gravel road, rear brakes wont slide at same time unless you mash pedal hard as you can,then barely do then, is this normal for these?

Also, brake pedal travel, seems to go down way more than other GM's i have had, once down, brakes feel normal, just a lot of travel, is this normal? cousin says his is same way. Master cyl "seems" good. Its bled to within a inch of its life,and has new brake hoes on it. still no better.Normal or?
Is this way the disc brake upgrade on rear is so popular?

And....... did anyone ever run into this on the rear drum brakes, ill try to explain, you know where the top, sorta "C" shape cut outs on upper edge of the shoes contact the anchor at top of the backing plate? mine wont unless you leave the E brake flat rod that runs from shoe to shoe out. With that rod installed, top of shoes sit approx. 3/32 or so away from anchor.(other side of car is normal)
Yes i thought it was a tight cable, but it will do this with cable unattached as well. Its not the wheel cyl. because shoes will make contact as long as the E brake flat rod is left out. I have looked and looked at everything, compared shoes to other shoes, made sure the right parts are installed, still cant figure out why it is like that, never had a car where the shoes wouldn't touch the anchor before.