J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll be tossing in a custom aluminum intake with a K&N filter on the weekend, and I've tracked down most of the parts I need.
Here's the big stumbling block... I have no idea what type of grommets to get for that hose (on an unrelated note - what the heck is that hose, anyway?)

Moon's article didn't really say (or show) specifically what I should be looking for. Anyone know exactly what I should be asking for, and where I should be asking?

Also... I picked up some spray-on touch up paint, or something like that, but it doesn't say whether or not it's ceramic-based. Think this stuff will do the trick, or should I get some bona fide ceramic stuff?

Whew... one last question (yeah I know I'm a huge newbie). Why does the aluminum intake perform better than the stock rubber one? The diameter is about the same, so it can't provide better airflow. Does the aluminum resist heat better than the rubber or something?

Thx...
(pics coming soon - 93 Sunbird convertible)

·
Super Moderator
7,650 Posts
The hose is part of the PCV system. See this post for my explanation on it.

The grommet is a round rubber piece that you should be able to find the the electrical section of your hardware store. It snaps into the hole you drill in the intake to help make a good seal. Just ask where you can find rubber or plastic grommets, they should know what you are talking about.

Make sure the paint is engine or high temp enamle. I don't know how well regular touch up paint will hold up.

The aluminum intake performs better because it is smoother. The stock tube has a grid like pattern molded into it. Look on the inside of it, it is not smooth.

Hope this answers your questions

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks moon! you so smart!

--edit--

so do these grommets come in different sizes?