J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,
I am a new registered member of moons site, and I am so glad I found this site. I have an 87 Z24, and I am having nothing but problems with my digital cluster. I took it out the other day, and fiddled around with it a little, and got it to work again, but there is still one problem with it. My odometer still isn't working. It tells me how fast I am going, but it won't tell me how many miles are on my car. I have been asking around, and I have been told that I need a new gearbox in my odometer. I personally don't want digital anymore. I am tired of fixing it all the time. Can anyone tell me is it possible to put an analog cluster from an 88, or 89 Z24 into an 87. And if it is possible, can someone please tell me how to do it. I am still new to this whole car repair thing, and could use all the help I can get.

Thanks A lot Everyone....
Z24boi87

·
Super Moderator
7,650 Posts
The digital clusters on our cars are notorious for having problems. Your best bet would be to convert it to the analog cluster. Find one at the junkyard, and it should swap right in. The VSS may possibly need to be replaced with the one from the car you get the new cluster from, but that depends on if the speedo is electronic or cable driven. In your car, it should be electronic, but the 88-90 you get the cluster from may be mechanical.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thank you for the reply.....But I have a question, what is the VSS? and also, the rpms, and all the gauges will work ok with the analog?

·
Super Moderator
7,650 Posts
Vehical Speed Sensor.
Located on the rear of the engine, right hand side of the tranny.

I beleive everything should work, as I know someone has done it before.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·