J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I have a '91 Z24 with 142k. I have very little mechanical experience, but my Fiancee's father has a lot. He told me the other day that he doesn't think my car will last much longer. Is there anything I can do to help remedy this situation and make my car last longer. I don't have much money to work with, or much free time either becuase i'm working two jobs. Right now, there isn't anything wrong with it (that I know off) except the engine seems to rattle a little sometimes (i'm not sure what that is) and when I give it gas the first couple of times after starting it then the RPM's drop to about 500 and then go up. I also have some minor body rust (behind the skirts and above the wheel wells) that i'm not sure how to get rid of.
Also, does anyone else's clutch rattle a little when the clutch pedal is out? The clutch that was on it when i first bought it rattled, and the pressure plate went so I had the whole clutch and pressure plate replaced, but the new one also rattles. It's not very loud, only noticeable if you listen for it, but i was just wondering if it's normal. It doesn't rattle if you hold the pedal in, only after you release the pedal.

Thanks for any help,
Bubnkell

·
Registered
221 Posts
I can sympathise with the rust, I actually just went outside to put a second coat of paint over my job behind the door skirt.

1) Remove the skirt - there will be a screw on the side of the door by the base, and six (seven?)along the inner bottom edge. Remove all of these. Then slide the skirt upwards, and set it aside. Remove the five plastic plates by pulling out on the right tab and sliding them to the right.

2) Grind - Take a small grinder and go to town on the rust. Most likely it's along the upper edge only, peeking out from over the skirt. Just get off the rough stuff, try not to go through your door.