J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just like the topic states, I was wondering if more power can be achieved using internals that are significantly lighter than stock? Less rotating mass means more power right?

·
Premium Member
24,384 Posts
dailydriverz said:
I don't think you GAIN power, your loss due to inefficeincy is lower. you know what I mean? :D
Um I'm no expert by any means But logicaly speaking this is crap. Reason being is The engine is going to work just as hard regardless of what's inside it. That's what it's desgined to do. Saying it would reach a certian power and then quit just because it's easier dosne't make sense. It's designed to put out "X" amount of force to move the parts. It will still continue to produce "X" amount of force regardless of how easy or hard it is to get said parts in motion. And since the parts are now easier to move than OEM Logically it would be safe to say that Yes your going to get more power out of it.

Kind of like a train that supposed to pull 40 cars now take the same exact train and have it pull 20 cars at the same rate...... Your telling me that both set ups will arrive at exactly the same time??

Maybe we're saying the same thing maybe we're not But I would definatly think a engine with lighter parts (in the same set up obviously) would be more powerful.

·
Registered
2,264 Posts
jakearooni said:
dailydriverz wrote:
I don't think you GAIN power, your loss due to inefficeincy is lower. you know what I mean?