J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I have a 92 Z24 that when I first start it. The engine makes a high pitched tapping sound almost like a knock but I sounds more like a piston slap or wristpin slap. Does anyone know what I can do to make that noise lessen or go away cheaply without boaring out the cylinder. I change my oil on time everytime. I think it is coming from the bottom of the engine on the passenger side. If anyone can help I would appreciate it.
thanks
phil

·
Super Moderator
7,650 Posts
Sorry to hear that :(
How many miles are on the engine?
I am no expert on the matter, but i would say that you probably have the problem diagnosed right.
As for fixing it cheaply, i doubt that is possible. Whenever there is actually internal physical damage, especially to metal parts, there is really no way to totaly remedy it without a rebuild. If you are going to try any of that wonder in a bottle stuff, i would recommend Zmax. http://www.gozmax.com Dunno if it would work with your problem, but they actually warrent your car against and internal failure while there product in installed.
Sorry i cant be of more help. Anyone else know anything on this topic?
Good luck! :)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is it still tapping? Whats the oil pressure? Does it only do this when its cold? What Im thinking is that when its cold the oil isnt really running free, but as soon as it warms up the oil runs free cause it gets thinner. My monte carlo does this(dont worry i have a 89 z24) but I wouldnt really worry about it. The 3.1 is one of the best engines chevy made, a little tap in the beggining wont hurt to much.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·