J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

My 90 Z24 was running fine; then started hesitating, then stalled. Would re-start, run a bit and then do it again. Finally, it wouldn?t start. I had it towed and the mechanic told me there was almost no fuel pressure; certainly not enough to run the car, and that it would cost way more than the car is worth to fix it. He said I had to get a new gas tank to replace the pump, and then replace all the fuel lines. He has said before the underside is pretty rusty, but I had hoped to keep the car for a bit longer.

Anyone have any advice on how to best fix this? I am not a great mechanic, but I have replaced brake lines, rotors, wheel bearings and such; fairly basic stuff. Any help if greatly appreciated. Please explain as thoroughly as possible, as I?m not that familiar with working on cars.

·
Administrator
25,608 Posts
Gas tanks aren't bad.. i bet you could pick up a whole tank and used pump for around $50 at the junk yard.

they aren't too bad to replace, the more fuel in the tank, the harder it is. Probably a few hrs to do the first time.. just stock up on a few 2x4's, a jack or 2 and a can of PB Blaster.. along with a ratchet, 6-8" extention, 15mm socket, flathead screwdriver and a small hammer if you have to take the pump assembly out (for the lock ring)

PS, if you can get it fixed, you should come to the bash :wink:

·
Registered
3,691 Posts
he's full of BS.. the new pump costs between $70 and $90 and you only need to drop the fuel tank to change the pump.. the tank doesnt need replacement unless its leaking.

·
Administrator
25,608 Posts
pezed said:
he's full of BS.. the new pump costs between $70 and $90 and you only need to drop the fuel tank to change the pump.. the tank doesnt need replacement unless its leaking.