J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all sry if my questions sound dumb but i'm not a mechanic i am learning as i go on my own. I really like the 2.8s i am thinking of rebuilding my motor and adding different parts and i need some opinions. As far as i know my whole motor is stock, and i am wondering if 3.0L pistons bored .040 would fit and if they do how much more power you think i will get with the extra gas capacity and is it worth $40 ?? And would it be worth putting a cam with specs. intake .394 lift, 276 duration exhaust .410 lift, 293 duration for $60 ?? How much better do you think those 2 pieces would make my 2.8 ?? thx for help

Ray

·
Registered
656 Posts
Yea, dont bore unless the engine absolutly needs it.

260H is a nice cam, they have a 280 as well, but that might be too much depending on what your using the car for.

One of the swaps that gets great reviews is to put a 3.1 or 3.4 liter top end on your block. (Upper and lower intake plus throttle body.)

The more air you can flow, the more power your going to make. Also, pay attention to your choices for exhaust. Its real easy to change the whole system with the engine out of the car. The smallest diameter I'd go with is 2.25, 2.50 is ideal..

If you have no emissions where you live, hollow the cat. That way it LOOKS like its there, but doesn't do anything. Go with a free flowing muffler. Dynomax ultra flo is the best bang for the buck. (Cost VS horsepower VS sound control.)

Right now I have NO muffler on my car. Just a straight 2.25 pipe from the hollow cat right to the dual tip made by Monza. (Has tiny glass pack mufflers in the tip)

Sounded GREAT when it was first done, but now that the packing has settled its getting too loud.

Dave T. - 1987 Cavalier RS/SS Wagon - 387,000 mi - Long Island, NY
"Insert tag line here"

·
Super Moderator
20,045 Posts