J-Body Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
does anyone know if a 1991 4cyl manual trans will fit into a 1991 z24? my z24 is auto,a nd i came across a great deal on a stick 4cyl trans, just curious if it will fit.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yea, i no, but i got almost eveyrthing i need for the swap for $100 including the trans, so i figure ill do the swap with this trans until it goie, the actually spend money on a good trans. im a broke college student and trying to do this as cheap as possible, but still the right way.

·
Administrator
25,608 Posts
save up and do it right man.. i was a broke college student and have made nearly the same mistake 3 times now with another car.. 4 years out of college now and i still have a half-assed trans am on the side of my house :lol:

just my .02c :)

It will work but you'll need to find all the V6 5 speed motor mounts, your auto ones won't work and i doubt the 2.2 ones will be even close.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanx alot man, i think im just gana use all the accesories it came with, adn go buy just the trans from a z, cuz i found a friend of the family shop to put it in pritty cheap.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
another question, if i get GTZ gears, will they fit in my 4 cyl trans? if so, will that also fix the problem of it not lasting long? what are you opinios on doing that? thanx for all your help.

·
Administrator
25,608 Posts
v6z24e said:
another question, if i get GTZ gears, will they fit in my 4 cyl trans? if so, will that also fix the problem of it not lasting long? what are you opinios on doing that? thanx for all your help.
the GTZ gears are actually in a HM282 tranny which is the same case as the V6 HM282.. so no, they won't fit in your isuzu tranny. Sorry

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·